435 Cortez Rd. W. Bradenton, FL


Manatee Democratic Black Caucus

Black Caucus History

The Democratic Black Caucus initially started in 2003 as Manatee/Sarasota Democratic Black Caucus, under the leadership of Sharay Davis as President and Leon Harris, Jr. as vice-president. 

Presidents since 2003:

Sharay Davis

Leon Harris Jr.

Cornelle Maxfield

Susie Copeland

In February  2019, the Manatee County Democratic Black Caucus formed.  

In April 2019, the Sarasota County Democratic Black Caucus was formed


Membership is open to all registered democrats in Manatee County.

Membership Fees:

$60.00 for regular and adult

$30.00  - Seniors (62+)and Students

5 Reasons to Join

  • To be a pat of a forum to discuss and act on common issues affecting Blacks and Black Communities.
  • To merge ideas, resources, skills and notions to advance Blacks social, economically, and politically.
  • To help develop a UNIFIED agenda for Blacks in Manatee County
  • To learn more about the political process, and to be a part of sharing knowledge with others.
  • To network and build relationships with persons of similar interests.